You can take the half-wit out of the land of eve-teasing, but you can’t…

9 Jul

I was walking home from work at 9:30 p.m today. It’s a hot summer night in Barcelona, and the streets are teeming with the usual mix of tourists and crazies.

A young man in a grey hoodie passes me on Calle Ferran, cooing lovingly to the shifty looking grey pigeon perched on his arm. Clueless tourists trundle by with suitcases the size of small cars, ‘this town must have a night life, right?’

Right.

I cross La Ramblas, over into the Raval, and I’m walking up my street hardly two minutes from my front door. A car on the street slows down, a head pops out and an unmistakably Indian voice, in unmistakably ghati grammar,  yells out ‘Hey baby wanna sex with me?!!!’

Suddenly I’m transported back fifteen years. I’m fifteen years old, and having men in cars slow down to yell inane words or try to grab me is normal, and the relentless daily sexual harassment of women, girls, children, octogenarians (you name it) is all sweetly labelled ‘eve-teasing’. I’ve traveled fifteen years, two continents and three countries to be annoyed in the street by another half-wit Indian man.

Great.

Still, they never wait to hear my answer.

No I still don’t wanna sex with you.

I wanna high-five you darling.

In the face.

With a hammer.

4 Responses to “You can take the half-wit out of the land of eve-teasing, but you can’t…”

  1. Richard Davie July 10, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    Poor Prithika! I’m always amazed at the stories girls tell of abuse in the streets when they’re walking alone, never happens when a guy’s around…

  2. Shree August 11, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    “I wanna high-five you darling.
    In the face.
    With a hammer.”
    Hilarious. Still, true story what you said…I was in Raval some time ago at 9.30pm with another Indian girl-friend and it gave me the creeps…lots of Indian immigrants with lusty, greedy stares. It never stops to amaze me how this culture of viewing and treating women as inferior objects travels over country barriers so easily.

    • Prithika August 11, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      Hi Shree,
      It’s a shame isn’t it? I think as Indian girls, we actually get singled out for extra perviness from these guys.

      • Shree August 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

        Yes Prithika, I totally agree. By the way, I absolutely love your blog🙂

Leave a Reply

