Love thy neighbour, Barcelona style

11 Jun

Dear Neighbours,

I don’t mind, I swear I don’t.

I don’t mind stepping around the abandoned beer cans in the stairway on my way to work in the morning.

I don’t mind that weird lingering smell in the vestibule.

I don’t mind the drunk girl who runs about her flat in high heels at 5 a.m, bleating like a spring lamb. I think her childlike joy is sweet. I really do.

I don’t mind that you think siesta hour is the ideal time for a flamenco party. Sleep is overrated anyway.

I don’t mind that most of you stare at me silently with vacant saucer eyes when we pass in the stairway. Unable to crack a smile or muster up the customary two syllable ‘hola’ or even ‘hello’ in reply to my greeting. You were obviously raised by wolves back home.

No, I’m sorry, that was uncalled for.

Wolves actually have excellent social skills.

I don’t mind that the father of the family squatting upstairs is most probably a pickpocket. At least when he heads out to work wearing a different British football T-shirt every evening, we smile and ask each other how the day went.

The one thing I do mind. The one thing I can’t stand anymore, are her cries. I’ve lived with her howls of rage and frustration for three days now. I’ve never heard such plaintive pain in a voice and it haunts me day and night.

So please, dear neighbour, for the love of god, if there is any decency in you.

When this cycle is over, neuter your horny little cat.

10 Responses to “Love thy neighbour, Barcelona style”

  1. Rokeby Lynch June 11, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Blimey o Reily… trauma or what!!!! Move! Come to the joyful peace of Castelldefels.

    • Prithika June 11, 2013 at 10:58 am #

      I’m tempted. No horny cats in Castelldefels?

  2. Amelia Killen June 11, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I feel your pain, I can send Maxou to sort her out if you like…

    • Prithika June 11, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      Ah Maxou and his disturbing cat loving tendencies. How I need him🙂

  3. Richard Davie June 12, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    You’re a sucker for punishment…. I wonder when you’ll start to get sick of the ghetto?

    • Prithika June 13, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

      I should move out of the ghetto, but then I’d have nothing to write about.

      1 year in Raval = around 3 years in Gracia in terms of funny strange stories, and 1 year in Raval may equal almost 7 years in Sarria.

      I’d have to start writing reviews on Tapas restaurants and attending art gallery openings. Or something.

      • Richard June 14, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

        Fair point. Keep it dirty and interesting haha

  4. Fabien July 2, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Ahah, you forgot about the drunk tourists who sing at 5 in the morning! grat article by the way, I can picture myself in!!

  5. Jessica of HolaYessica July 5, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Haha this makes me miss living in the Raval a bit!

    • Prithika July 5, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      He he! Just a bit? Wise woman.

Leave a Reply

