I know why the doughnut man smiles

22 Aug

Yesterday I was at the right place at the right time, with the right amount of money (1.50 Euros) to buy the last doughnut from Barcelona’s famous doughnut man. I had just taken the first bite of my doughnut when a man called out.

Doughnut man: Sorry that was my last one. I’m sorry little one. Tomorrow you can get my first doughnut.

Good-natured cries of disappointment go up. A little 3 year old boy looks devastated. I feel horrible.

Me (whispering to the doughnut man): I’ll share half with him, if they like.

Doughnut man: Would you like to have half a doughnut?

Both parents shake their heads ‘no’. Behind them, the little boy shakes his head vigorously ‘yes’.

I beckon to him and he comes running over, and we split the doughnut. He stands next to me looking a bit uncertain. I smile at him. He leans in, and gently kisses me on the cheek.

Awwww!

The doughnut man is laughing at me.

Doughnut man: Now you know! Now you know!

Me: What?

Doughnut man: Now you know what it feels like for me, to get a kiss and thank you at work every day!

Que bien Bambolino!

This is the doughnut man in action. He also featured in Shakira’s video which she filmed in Barcelona in 2010.

2 Responses to “I know why the doughnut man smiles”

  1. tbri001 August 26, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    A great little story with just the right amount of local colour. Would make an interesting podcast.

  2. david September 5, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    bambolino¡¡¡¡

Leave a Reply

