Chasing Wabi-Sabi in the garden

13 Aug

For the last week or so, I’ve been house-sitting for some friends who live in the tiny village of Alella, near the coastal village of El Masnou. It’s been a week of slow living, and a week of luxurious living, due largely to the little pool in the backyard.

I’ve enjoyed the novelty of living in a real house, a grown-up house. They even have grown-up books to read.

I read one last night called Wabi-Sabi for Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers. It’s an introduction to a Japanese aesthetic called Wabi-Sabi. It’s a funny little book and the author, Leonard Koren deserves a lot of credit for keeping it short.

As to how well he describes the philosophy, I can’t say since I’m not Japanese and my knowledge of Japanese culture is appalling.

According to him:

Wabi-sabi is a beauty of things imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete.

It is a beauty of things modest and humble.

It is a beauty of things unconventional.

Inspired by this book, and a lack of cable TV, I took my camera into the garden. I don’t know what it was about the philosophy, but it ended up being the most fun I’ve had taking pictures for a while.

Tomorrow, I return to madness.

4 Responses to “Chasing Wabi-Sabi in the garden”

  1. Ann August 13, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Beautiful Prithika what a clever sis in law i have, much love xx

    • Prithika August 13, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      Thanks Ann. Much love coming back at you x

  2. tbri001 August 15, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    This entry inspired me to pick up a book on wabi-sabi, “Wabi-sabi: The Japanese art of Impermanence” by Andrew Juniper. I’ll let you know how it is.

    • Prithika August 15, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      Hey, good to hear. Let me know how your experiments with it go🙂

Leave a Reply

