Lessons I learned at Sonar

18 Jun

I learned a few things at Sonar this weekend which may be useful to others. Each lesson has an anecdote, so bear with me.

Friday night

I was going to Sonar! Woohoo! It was all so exciting, until I reached the ticket checkers at the gate. Having scanned my print out, he then sent me along to the ticket verification office where a nice man told me that I had been sold a fake ticket. I wasn’t the only one. All around me girls and boys were standing around a bit shell-shocked, mumbling stuff about buying their tickets from the friend of a friend.
Bummer!
I was ushered along to the ticket office where I had to buy a one night ticket for the eye watering price of 65 Euros. Ouch!

Lesson number 1: Friends of friends can con you in Barcelona

 

Saturday morning

While recovering from a fantastic night, our friend calls us to assure me I will be getting my money back. She got them from an office colleague who she had now threatened with a severe head kicking unless he coughed up.

Lesson number 2: Don’t con people who know where you live and work

 

Saturday night

The ticket checker had told me my other ticket was probably fake, but he couldn’t verify it untill Saturday night. So I arrived planning to try the ticket and then if all failed, buying another painfully expensive night pass. But this was the last night of Sonar, and we arrived at 11:30 pm to the sight of heart sinking ‘Sold Out’ signs. I tried my luck with the fake one, which stubbornly refused to pass the scanner. A security guard was summoned and I was handed over. Putting on a brave face I said goodbye to wiser friends (who had the sense to buy direct from the vendors).

The security guy directed me down a passage at the end of which I was to go left and find the ticket verification office. I went down that passage, and at the end I found an entrance to Sonar on my right, and the exit on my left. I don’t know if this was a result of poor organisation or a kindly ‘look the other way’ approach by the guards towards duped schmucks like myself: both of which are equally possible in Barcelona.

Either way, the gods gave me a chance and I took it.

Lesson number 3: You don’t always have to turn left as instructed. Sometimes you can turn right and slip past the gate! Whoop Whoop!

 

3 Responses to “Lessons I learned at Sonar”

  1. TEFL Iberia June 18, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Haha I heard some grumbling about this last night, supposedly the gossip is that someone managed to give out some dodgy tickets for Primavera that worked, but the same ticket company got wise to it and put a stop to it for Sonar…..What I want to know is why the pool party in Montjuic was closed down, amongst other decent parties?

  2. Prithika June 21, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    That makes a lot more sense to me now- so the guy who scammed us thought we would get in, and no one would realise it was a fake ticket. When I wondered why someone would scam people who knew them I was told ‘It’s Barcelona’ with a shrug.
    No one seems to have any idea about the Monjuic and other parties, maybe an attempt to keep Sonar pure to it’s commercial roots?🙂 Were these free parties?

    • TEFL Iberia June 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      No they were very expensive parties, which reminds me, I need a refund! I know the Thursday party was shut down early then the rest of the weekend cancelled. I remember when ‘anti-sonar’ took place in the industrial estate right next to sonar by night, a big scary illegal rave all weekend🙂

Leave a Reply

