Novel confessions

20 Nov

The challenge I signed up to was to write a 50,000 word novel in 1 month. From the first of November till the end at midnight.

To have any chance of a victory, I need to be around the 33,333 word mark at the moment. It’s all under control, I’m almost there. My word count is at about 2,400.

So like I said, I’m almost there.

The worst part is I have now realised that the story is boring and hopelessly lost, I can’t write dialogue, I don’t know how to correctly parenthesis a dialogue, and my characters are crap. The lead character has turned out to be an Indian girl around my age. I did this so I wouldn’t have to imagine character too much, and could just borrow from my own knowledge of 20 something Indian girls.

It didn’t work.

I don’t know who this chick is!

I think she’s going to turn out to be mean.

I am nice. ish.

Apart from her there is a mysterious Catalan lady who runs a secret dosa kitchen in a squat and has an adopted Indian daughter, Yuri the Russian dosa maker (I like Yuri), Paco the pal who was supposed to be a boring nice guy but isn’t really following his character ( I don’t like Paco!) and another guy who just entered the story

Something is not going to go well at this story club.

This is what Yuri might look like sitting at his table.

Needless to say, there are no pictures of blond dosa makers out there.

2 Responses to “Novel confessions”

  1. Lynch November 27, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    A lot of writers write novels because they believe that’s what a writer does. Howver, it maybe that while they’re a genius writer… the novel isn’t necessarly the best vehicle for their talent. I have really really enjoyed the past half an hour I’ve spent reading your blog so I think you’re a really excellent writer… but if you’re having dificulties with the novel maybe you should ask yourself if that’s the best form for you.

    Of course, on the other hand, nothing in life – or writing – is easy, so these could just be comunal garden creative problems and the reality is you’re the greatest novelist since Jeffrey Archer….

    decisions decisions….

    anyway, your novel sounds bloody cool… but when are the teenage lesbian vampires gonna make an appearance?

    • Prithika December 4, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Ooo I missed the deadline by miles, but ideas for it still keep popping into my head. You may be right and its just not the medium for me, but I would like to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

