Carribean home cooking from the boy next door

19 Mar

Walking up the endless stairs to my former flat in the Raval I notice a picture on the door of the flat below us. It’s chef from South Park. Him of the ‘lick my salty chocolate balls’ song fame is the only bit of discrete advertising announcing glad tidings for Barcelona foodies.

The boys downstairs are bringing home cooking back to the home. Forget about those hyped up New Yorky home restaurants or so-called secret kitchens, come down to Raval’s Funky Chicken Eat Caribbean for some living room hospitality.

Think of it as an invite-only house party held at lunch and dinner time, Friday to Sunday, with the expectation you contribute to your host’s costs. Call or email to arrange your invite.

Hooray for Jerk Chicken loveliness!

Join chef on Facebook or visit his Funky Chicken page.

6 Responses to “Carribean home cooking from the boy next door”

  1. The Spain Scoop - Scoopette March 20, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    Did you try the menu? How was it?

  2. Richard Davie March 20, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    Cool! I also live in Raval and love these sorts of places. Well done on the initiative.

  3. Prithika March 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    I haven’t tried the menu yet – I only spotted them on Sunday afternoon but I’m hoping to get a table this weekend. I promise to report back after :-)

  4. Andrea March 24, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    <3 funky chicken !!!

  5. Prithika March 28, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    I had to cancel my booking last Sunday, but the absolute sweethearts that they are, they brought a banana nut birthday cake over and left it with my former flatmates to pass on to me. My first homemade birthday cake since I left home over 8 years ago!

    I can tell you now it was delicious (everyone who tasted it loved it!), and heart warming.

    It’s this kind of unexpected sweetness which makes me miss the Raval.

  6. ABDOUL April 9, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Hola lester; soy yo ABDOUL de sea point tanto tienpo mientere tienes restaurante me alegro muy bon idea pues mucha suerte. oye aber si me puedes mandar tu numero telefono o te mi skyp; abdoul.rahim2 asta luego.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

