Life on the run

23 Feb

Day 1
Went to Decathlon and bought a cheap pair of running shoes €15, some hideous but comfortable tights and a sports bra (best money ever spent – women with boobs take note).

Day 2
Thought about running.

Day 3
Thought about running. Felt guilty about having spent money on running stuff.

Day 4
Called friend, who out of sheer monumental boredom, agreed to join me on her bike. We walk/shuffle/cycle along the esplanade in Barceloneta. This is strangely exhilarating despite the fact that everyone overtakes us. We discuss my future overindulgence in the sport. Its agreed I should definitely stop before I get a runner’s body – no waist, no butt, no hips and hard sinewy legs. We end the run hanging upside down from the climbing frame on the beach. A fantastic start!

Day 5
I find to my utter amazement, no sudden death or injury has occurred from last night’s run. I am a little sore from swinging about the frame though.

Day 6
The first runner’s wall – my friend cancels. Another friend points out that it’s Friday night on Carnival weekend. I go anyway. She gets worried.

Day 7
Sore. A friend calls me at 12pm to see if I’m coming out. I’m already in bed. She hangs up in disgust.

Day 8
Sunday morning. I wake up and glance at the clock. Its 8 am. I think ‘if I get up right now I can go for a run before I start work’. Then I think ‘who am I!!!!?’

This is almost exactly what we looked like, but with sports bras :

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 580 other followers

